Tuesday, October 8, 2013

WCL re-aligns into three divisions

The West Coast League has re-aligned from two to three divisions for the 2014 season. With the addition of an expansion team in Yakima, some had been expecting the new team to simply be added to the North Division, but the league has instead decided to implement three four-team divisions.

The new divisional alignment is expected to help cut down on travel costs. All four of the Oregon-based teams have been placed in the new South Division, while the remaining teams will be split into East and West Divisions. The new alignment is as follows:
Kelowna Falcons
Walla Walla Sweets
Wenatchee AppleSox
Yakima (expansion)
Bellingham Bells
Cowlitz Black Bears
Kitsap BlueJackets
Victoria HarbourCats
Bend Elks
Corvallis Knights
Klamath Falls Gems
Medford Rogues
It is expected that each team will play half of their games within their division. Each of the division winners and one wildcard team will advance to the playoffs.

The re-alignment works out extremely well for the Victoria HarbourCats. In addition to saving on travel costs, the HarbourCats no longer are in the same division as the powerhouse Wenatchee AppleSox and the tough Walla Walla Sweets. The West Division is clearly the weakest of the three divisions and the HarbourCats have a viable shot at making the playoffs in 2014. At the very least, Victoria should be in a pennant race deep into the 2014 season.

No comments:

Post a Comment